top of page

Advent Calendar

Today marks the beginning of advent. How weird. Everytime I spend December days in the warmth it feels so weird. So I try to get a little Christmas feels by opening the first "door" of my advent calender and got an idea. I want to try to write a little something every day-  kind of like an advent calendar. Since today I start my travels I am sure there is lots to tell. I don't know if it will work out, maybe the network will not cooperate, but I will try my best to tell you a little bit every day. Something that happened to me, a random thought, a quote that made my day. I hope you enjoy.

December 1st:

I start my travels to buea, which is in the western region. It is a town at the foot of majestic Mount Cameroon. As I sit in a comfortable VIP bus I  remeber the first time I took a regular one: not really counting as a whole person here because of my size I only got half a seat. On a bench for four we were 6 plus 2 children. Every other person had to lean forward in order to have enough space. Eight hours, here we go. It was hot and long, but the time passed because of all the preacher men that got on the bus, who prayed and sang with us and occasionally sold magical leaves that cured all STDs. It was entertaining. So was the communal pottie break in the middle of nowhere where everyone descended an eased themselves on the side of the road. 

The journey was tiring, yes, but I was glad I experienced it. I felt like an important experience to make if one wants to enjoy the real culture, the real spirit. 

Saying this, I do feel a little weird taking the VIP coach now. 

bottom of page